“Jaw With John” – A Potential One That Got Away Shouldn’t Anchor You Down

“I have been with my boyfriend for two years. Until recently, we were inseparable and I loved his company. I got a job that required me to temporarily relocate and be on my own, so we saw each other only every other week. During that time, I gained a better understanding of who I am and how I want to spend my time.

Since then, I have realized that my boyfriend and I may not be as compatible as I once thought. We discussed it, and he’s willing to do anything to make it work. But some things can’t be changed, such as his interests and small quirks he has. I’m having a hard time because I want to break things off, but then I worry that he could be “the one that got away.” Any advice would be appreciated. — LOOKING FOR THE ONE

Dear Looking,

It looks as though absence did not make your heart grow fonder.

You’ve had the opportunity to take a step back and examine things from a far. And from that distance, you’ve seen that maybe this thing you thought was a well-oiled machine was in fact being held together by duct tape and bubble gum.

You shouldn’t be with someone because they may end up being “the one that got away.” That’s not fair to you or your boyfriend. It would be cheating you and him out of potential happiness somewhere else. It sounds like it’s time to let him go and let him find someone who shares his interests and enjoys his quirks.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

