“Jaw With John” – Lazy Son Needs Some Motivation

My son is 27 and lives with me because I have MS. I can do most things for myself but I have no balance and use a walker. My son primarily takes the trash out.

Our house has a bonus room in back where he and his friends can hang out so that we have our own space.

My problem is that it takes nagging him many times to get him to do something that I can’t do, and I am sick of it.

His father was the same way. When we were married I did all of the simple maintenance because it was easier, but now I can’t.

I don’t want to make him feel he has to take care of me. He needs his own life. He has a job he loves but does not make that much money. Should I kick him out? — Disabled Mom

Dear Mom:

He doesn’t make much money and you want to kick him out? This may cause him to pursue a higher-paying job or he could flourish in the job he currently has and succeed. OR he could end up right back in that extra room because he ran out of money.

Another option would be to charge him rent so that you could hire some help to do those things around the house. If he doesn’t like it then he can do those things for you in exchange for living there. If he was a good son he would do those things after maybe the second time asking…

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

