“Jaw With John” – Wedding Gift Dilemma

A friend of my daughter’s (and not a particularly close friend) is getting married in a month.

I have been invited to the wedding.

It is more than a three-hour drive, so I’ve already made up my mind not to attend.

I have only met this young lady one time.

What is my socially correct obligation? Is it necessary for me to buy her a gift? I am not a stingy person, but the going rate for cash gifts is around $150 in our area. Your thoughts are appreciated. — Wedding Vexed

Dear Vexed:

You don’t have to attend if you don’t want to. Politely decline and be on your way. Furthermore, since you are not attending it is not necessary for you to buy a gift, let alone $150.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

