“Jaw With John” – An Adult Making Fun Of A Child, Real Classy

My father’s longtime partner of over 30 years, “Vivian,” has started to make mean remarks to my 3-year-old son. For instance, she makes fun of his speech (he cannot pronounce “L” and “S” yet).

She will imitate him in a mean voice and then laugh. She has never been mean to my older daughter or to me, so this has really caught me off guard. In the moment I’m so at a loss for words and emotional that I don’t respond, which may be for the best, since my children are present.

Now I am angry. I don’t know if I should refuse to let my children around her. My father is non-confrontational and will not get involved.

Should I sit down with her and tell her that her behavior is unacceptable (which I doubt will go well), or is it best to let this go? — Angry Mom

Dear Angry:

Vivian sounds like a real piece of work. Making fun of children, like super young children, and laughing about it, is not tolerated. She sounds like she doesn’t know any better, which sounds impossible but it happens. You need to sit her down and tell her that her behavior is unacceptable. He’s a child!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on ““Jaw With John” – An Adult Making Fun Of A Child, Real Classy

  1. JustMeOMaya says:

    Awwwe! That is terrible. I applaud you for keeping your composure, class,and poise during that hurtful interaction! My daughter is 2.5 and has trouble pronouncing her “L” and “R”. It is totally understandable to say something. I would. 😊

Leave a Reply

