“Jaw With John” – Throw A Flag At The Creepy Old Guy

I recently invited an acquaintance, “Al,” to a TV sports viewing party. He invited his friend “Ed” to join us.

Al and Ed have known each other their entire lives, but I had never met Ed before. They are both 70 years old.

After the game ended, we three were talking when Ed suddenly said to me, “So, what are we going to do now, make love?” Then, a few minutes later he said, “When I’m driving my car, you can pay off a bet.” I had not made any sports bets with him. He was alluding to a sexual act.

Al did not hear the crass questions. I ignored Ed’s offensive behavior.

Both Al and I are decent, kind and considerate people. I was dressed conservatively in sports attire. We were kind and welcoming to Ed. All of my friends are well-mannered and courteous.

Ed’s offensive remarks were negative and insulting. He did not drink alcohol and no drugs were present, so what gives? I told Al about this and he did not know why Ed acted offensively.

What could I have said to Ed to fend off both remarks?

Also I do not trust Ed, and he knows where I live.

What can I do proactively to protect myself? — Proper and Puzzled Gal

Dear Proper:

I am literally confused here. Your wording perplexes me.

I assume Ed was trying to be funny, and obviously came off as a creepy old man. His remark about the bet – I have no idea. It LITERALLY makes zero sense to me. Maybe he thinks you’re someone else who he made a bet with, but still, I have no idea what he means here. I’m as confused as you are. Or maybe he was just very horny that day?

Trust me, all of your friends are not well-mannered and courteous. You’re being very naive.

Now you’re being paranoid here when you talk about protecting yourself. The Super Bowl was three weeks ago, has he stopped by since? If he does then you can ignore him and if that doesn’t work, call the police. Otherwise you’re making a mountain out of molehill for a creepy old guy.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

