“Jaw With John” – She’s Not Lying in Bed Just Like Brian Wilson Did

My 15-year-old daughter chose to attend a private/prep school in the city.

She gets up at 5:45 every morning, takes a train and a bus to school, and reverses the commute at the end of every day. On weekends she stays up late (probably like most teenagers) and does not wake up until 11 a.m. or so.

I’m not sure if I should be letting her sleep or getting her up early. She does do some chores around the house: cleans her room, her bathroom, does the dishes, etc. My husband and I don’t want to burn her out, but we don’t want her to get away with sleeping in.

Any advice? — Too Demanding?

Dear Demanding?:

Is she misbehaving? Acting out? Getting into trouble? Not completing her homework? If the answer to these questions is “No”. Leave her be.

She clearly has a rough weekday schedule and the weekend is a time for her to unwind and catch up on some much needed sleep. Having said that, I used to get up at around that time when I was in high school and even on weekends I was up by 7-7:30am. I just can’t justify sleeping in. I’ve only slept in past 10am twice and both times I felt like the day was wasted. Bu that’s just me. Unless she’s “lying in bed just like Brian Wilson did” then this is a non-issue. Let the girl sleep.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

