“Jaw With John” – As Blink-182 said: ‘Work Sucks, I Know’

I am a millennial, first-generation college graduate from a dysfunctional family. I assumed when I went to college that things would somehow be easier, but they weren’t. Looking back, I guess it was a killer combo of burnout, lack of support/mentorship and unresolved issues.

Upon graduation with decent grades I was released into the first year of the faltering job market. Since then I have managed to scrape by (and for that I feel fortunate) but never really gain security.

I was laid off from my job several months ago, but the thought of getting another 9-to-5 office job literally gives me anxiety attacks. The stress of trying to pretend to be “normal” and robotic to that level is something that I’ve realized I cannot do.

In my earlier days, arts, writing and performing made me the happiest. Sometimes I wonder if things have been so difficult attempting to succeed in corporate America because it was not something I was meant to do in the first place. But acting and writing seem like pipe dreams.

I am a 28-year-old woman. Is it foolish just to get part-time jobs until I figure some things out? My student debt makes it impossible to go back to school right now. — Jaded and Confused

Dear Jaded:

I feel like you and I are in the same boat. It took me almost a full year after graduating to get a job. I held that job for 3 years before I had finally had enough and wanted out. This job was emotionally and physically draining on me and the thought of doing it for another year made me change paths. So, I did something crazy, I quit it and went around the world for a month and a half. It was probably one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

I currently do part-time stuff as I figure things out and see where I can go. There’s nothing wrong with that at all. Does it suck? Hell yeah it sucks! Especially when you see your friends furthering their careers and thriving. But don’t let that get you down! 9-to-5 corporate jobs are not for everyone, no matter what Dolly Parton tells us.

Take a part-time job, figure your shit out and when you find that thing that you excel at and smile going to day in and day out you will realize that you made the right choice.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

