Brisbane From Above: Mt. Coot-tha

Spend time on the ground long enough and you’re going to want to get up above everything and see where you’ve been.

I live by that motto, which I think I just made up, whenever I go someplace new. I try to get up as high as I can to look over a city, town, landscape, or whatever. Maybe that’s why I enjoy bungy jumping so much. I get to take in the view and then dive headfirst into it. Unfortunately, Brisbane didn’t have anything like that on top of Mt. Coot-tha.

I’d like to keep this post shorter and let the images speak for themselves.

IMG_0231

IMG_0233

IMG_0230

IMG_0230

Once I navigated a winding road surrounded by trees as tall as some buildings, I came upon the observation area. Which, as you can see is a beautiful patio overlooking the city of Brisbane and the Brisbane River as you’re perched on top of the trees. On the clearest day you can see all the way out to the Pacific Ocean.

A great feature at the observation area is the tile work and plaque depicting the river as it starts from the ocean and snakes through the city.

IMG_0238

IMG_0236

IMG_0237

It truly is a must-see for anyone visiting Brisbane. It gives you a whole new perspective on the city and allows you to escape, for however long you’d like, the chaos of city life.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

