“Jaw With John” – I’m Fining You For Being a Dumb Friend

I have had a friend, “Margaret,” for 18 years. We are both over 50 years old and have shared many important life-changing events.

On her birthday, she had a party at her house. I arrived early to help out and parked in front of her house, as I have done for the past 18 years.

Unbeknownst to me, there is a new restricted parking zone in that spot. I got a $50 ticket!

I felt furious, betrayed and shocked that Margaret had not informed me or warned me not to park there.

She told me privately that she would pay half of the ticket. The due date came and went, I paid the ticket, and nothing more was said. The other day, I made a remark about the $50 and she rolled her eyes. That would have been the perfect moment to offer to help pay.

She has never apologized. I would never let this happen to a friend. This is interfering with my trust and good feelings toward her, and I am leaning toward cutting back on the friendship, or ending it.

Is this grounds to end a friendship? — Betrayed in Denver

Dear Betrayed:

Grounds to end a friendship? That would be a pretty flimsy friendship if it ended over a parking ticket.

Let your friend off the hook here because you should know that you were in the wrong. It is not her job to tell you about a new parking restriction. She might have received a notice about the change but probably forgot about it. Also, she most likely parks in her driveway or parking garage so even if she did know about it, it probably went in one ear and out the other.

This whole thing is on you. You need to look out for signs that could tell you when and where you can or cannot park in certain spots. If I could issue a citation for you, I would, because this is one bonehead of a thought by you. Do you really think $50 is enough to end an 18-year friendship? Because I sure as hell don’t.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

