“Jaw With John” – Money Talks, And So Does His Brother

Both my brother and I are in our early 60s. My brother “Sam” is retired but has a wife who still works and makes outstanding money.

Sam continually lectures family members and friends about how much money he has and how they should follow his advice in investing their money. He brags and tells everyone in the family how they should be living their lives.

His arrogance drives everyone crazy! I told him many times that I do not want his financial advice. I tracked all of his financial advice and finally sat him down. I showed him mathematically that if I had followed his advice over the past several years that my wife and I would have lost almost all our life’s savings.

I also told him that family members and friends think he is very arrogant. He started screaming at me, told me that he did not believe a word I said, and ran out of the room.

I haven’t heard from him in several years. He will not answer any of my correspondence. What’s the best way to make him understand that he cannot continue to behave this way? — Concerned Brother

Dear Brother:

Did he really run out of the room? Because that would be pretty damn dramatic.

Is he really that rich? I imagine your brother walking around in a pin striped suit, slicked back hair, cigar in hand constantly saying “Greed, for lack of a better word, is good.” Or telling you as you pick up your cup of coffee in the morning, “Put that coffee down. Coffee’s for closers only.” But reality never lives up to your imagination…

Tracking down your brother’s past advice and telling him that he was wrong is kind of a dick move on your part. Sure he was wrong, but you didn’t have to do that to him to let him know he was wrong. You wasted a lot of time proving he was wrong and what did that accomplish? You’ve now made an enemy of your brother.

How is he making his money anyway? Perhaps you should just do as he does and not as he says. But this guy sounds like a prick, so don’t encourage him. Ultimately, the best way of dealing with people as loud as your brother is to calmly tell him “Sam, I appreciate your advice but I have my own financial plan that I am following.”

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

