“Jaw With John” – It’s your party, cry if you want to, but don’t

I am the youngest of three sisters. I was born on my sister “Carol’s” first birthday. We are all in our 50s.

My mom invited me to go out with my sisters and other family members on Sunday (our birthday). I said yes.

A few days later my mom called and said Carol had plans on our birthday and asked me about Saturday. My husband and I were booked for an overnight trip to celebrate our anniversary.

I said I was hoping we could go out Monday, but if Monday didn’t work then I was OK with missing it.

My whole family celebrated Carol’s birthday on Saturday without me. I know I said it was OK, but it was my birthday too!

I am so hurt. Am I overreacting? I really can’t think about talking to them right now. I don’t know how I’ll face them at Christmas. — Birthday Sister

Dear Birthday:

You said you were OK with them celebrating and NOW you’re butthurt that they celebrated without you. Hmm. I’m gonna say to you what Zack de la Rocha of ‘Rage Against the Machine’ said “What you reap, is what you sew!”

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

