Living Down Under

Back in 2007 I decided that I needed to expand my horizons and I wanted to travel and study abroad. My heart ultimately settled on the continent/country of Australia. While most of my friends ventured off to Europe with Spain & England & Italy being top destinations, I decided that I wanted to go someplace that was a bit more out of the way but would also be an excellent experience for me. I figured that if I landed anywhere in Europe I could get to other countries in Europe relatively easily by way of a plane, a car or a train.

Australia is not like that.

Australia is an island. A big damn island. A big damn island SO BIG that it was once used as a prison! Why wouldn’t I want to go there?!

The stories that will follow will be my first-hand accounts of what I experienced, felt, and learned from my six month stay Down Under, which also (spoilers!) included a side trip to New Zealand. I aim to provide you with the sights and sounds of each city, beach or town that I visited during my stay and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! Stay tuned!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

